Soliloquy

it’s sad how friendship is gauged by the amount of time you spend with the person, the number of similarities you have, the experiences you’ve shared together and the number of ideas you agree upon.

Couldn’t friendship transcend such trivialities?

I can be friends with the most unlikely person. As long as this individual can hold an argument. We don’t have to agree on a certain point of view, in fact, it’ll be much better if we’re at odds. All the better to keep a conversation going. to keep those neurons firing.

My heart weeps for the “friends” I’ve lost. Perhaps, I’m better off without them. Friendship cannot be one-sided. Like any relationship, it’s supposed to be give and take.

I thought they were friends. Well, as far as I was concerned, they were. Unfortunately, we don’t give the same meaning, the same weight to the term. We didn’t meet half way.

And I felt betrayed.

This is what I get for trusting humanity. For trying to reach out. I’ve been a hermit all my life, so why did I even try to socialize? I have no answers.

Not once, not twice, but this is the 3rd time. You’d think I learned my lesson? Maybe not. I’d still reach out to the very beings that will bite my hand off. I’d like to trust that humanity is for the better good.

What am I saying? What consciousness of mine is writing this? This personality has morphed.

Another soliloquy.

2 responses to “Soliloquy

  1. why is “relationship” such a complicated.. uhm.. “thing”? why do we need to hide, or lie. and why it’s not possible to talk to someone without any lies, with no sarcasms, no deceptions, no exaggerations or any of the things that people use to confuse the truth?

Leave a Reply

